Welcome!

I’ve never been one to really get into New Year’s resolutions, but it seemed fitting to start this blog on January 1, 2013. The great thing about blogging is that it can be whatever the blog author(s) want it to be, for better or worse. I hope to use this blog as a medium to share my thoughts and experiences in the field of history. Thinking about the meaning of the past and its impact on me today doesn’t come easy to me, but I think writing out my thoughts on a frequent basis could make this process a bit easier.  Channeling my inner Sam Wineburg, I believe that the process of learning about history takes place in many settings, whether it be the classroom, a sporting event, movies, discussions with friends… even blogs!

It is my goal to make this a living blog, not something that dies off after a few months when I run out of things to say. I’m very passionate about history and, like many other fields of study in the arts and humanities, it isn’t always appreciated or understood. Therefore, we must always work to remind the broader public about its importance to society. Hopefully I will be able to do my part to help out throughout my professional career.

Feel free to check out my “About Me” page if you’d like to learn more about the author of this blog. Comments are welcome and make sure to check back often for new posts.

Cheers

What do you think? Leave a comment here!

