Memorial Day Weekend Activities

I’m in St. Louis for a brief visit with my family and a concert. Tonight I am going to the Firebird to see El Ten Eleven, one of my favorite groups in the music scene right now. I have never heard an instrumental group quite like them, nor have I seen such an effective use of looping to create such dynamic soundscapes. It is sort of sounds like heaven to me.

One of my favorite songs is “My Only Swerving,” which you can watch on YouTube below. It is amazing.

I was wanting to go the Indy 500 on Sunday, but changed my mind at the last minute. Maybe next year. I will be back in Indiana for Memorial Day, however, because I’ll be meeting Wisconsin history teacher Chris Lese and his students in Hartsville at the grave of Barton Mitchell, who should be familiar to those who study the Civil War, specifically the battle of Antietam. I am not 100% sure what the group’s plans are for the day, but I look forward to visiting the grave, meeting Chris’s students, and learning more about Memorial Day.

Have a great holiday weekend.

Cheers

One response

  1. […] today, I’ve never participated in any Memorial Day services. That has changed, thankfully. As mentioned in my last post, I met up with Wisconsin history teacher Chris Lese, several of his co-workers, and about a dozen […]

What do you think? Leave a comment here!

