Rock and Roll St. Charles

whiskey-war-festival-posterBefore starting grad school in August of last year, I was living in St. Louis, Missouri and working at a local school district as a teaching assistant. In my free time, I was playing electric/upright bass in a blues/folk/rock band called Whiskey War Mountain Rebellion. I have been playing bass for thirteen years and have played in many groups, but WWMR was able to gain a bit of traction in the St. Louis area in part because of a festival we put on last year in St. Charles (an outlying suburb of St. Louis) called the Whiskey War Festival. We were able to get a few hundred audience members and about fifteen bands to come out to play our festival. It was a great experience all around, even though it was literally 99 degrees outside. Although my graduate studies necessitated a move to Indianapolis, my fellow bandmates pushed forward and have put together an impressive lineup for a full day of music festivities. I was able to get back to the area and will be playing with three different groups at this year’s Whiskey War Festival, which will be happening tomorrow, June 29th from Noon to Midnight. All times are Central.

The Riverfront Times wrote a nice article about our festival that you can read here. If you’re in the St. Louis/St. Charles area, consider coming out for a day of fun. Seeing that I just turned in a rough draft of my first chapter of my Master’s thesis, the festival will act as a nice celebration and a time to be with friends and family before I head back to Indianapolis to continue writing the thesis, of which I will write more about soon.

Cheers

What do you think? Leave a comment here!

