“The Simpsons” Predicts Super Bowl 48…in 2005

I recently came across a Huffington Post article where it was discovered that the famous television show The Simpsons had a scene in 2005 (the episode was “Bonfire of the Manatees”) in which the two teams in tomorrow’s Super Bowl were on the television with a “final score” of 19-14 in favor of the Denver Broncos.

Last year on this blog I predicted that the Ravens would beat the 49ers 35-31; the actual outcome was 34-31 in favor of the Ravens. This year I predict that the Broncos will win 24-21 over the Seahawks.

I’m a big sports fan and I’ve always enjoyed football, even though I never cared to play the sport and am now seeing several of my friends who did play years ago going through their own pains today. Nevertheless, I’ve learned a lot about the dark side of football over the past year, and it’s hard to ignore the devastating physical and emotional toll the game has on those who play it. Mike Webster’s 2002 death was one of the first notable instances in which football undoubtedly played a leading cause his untimely death at the age of 50. More recently, Junior Seau committed suicide in May of 2012. No doubt there are other horror stories as well. My friend Joshua Hedlund has decided to stop watching the Super Bowl altogether, and the more I read stories like those of Webster and Seau, the more I wonder if that might be the route I go in the future as well.

Cheers

What do you think? Leave a comment here!

