Off to Berlin

Schiller Square Berlin Germany. Photo Credit: Wikimedia Commons https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Schiller_Square_Berlin_Germany.jpg

Schiller Square Berlin Germany. Photo Credit: Wikimedia Commons https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Schiller_Square_Berlin_Germany.jpg

Tomorrow morning I’ll be leaving St. Louis en route to Berlin, Germany, for a one-week vacation. My good friend Nicholas K. Johnson has been studying in Berlin for the past year and has graciously invited me to visit and stay with him during my trip. This will be my first time in Europe and I am ecstatic about visiting a new part of the world. Between my work-related travels (Grand Canyon and Nashville) and now Berlin I’ve been very fortunate to take in many great sights this year.

While in Berlin I’ll be paying quite a bit of attention to the uses (and perhaps abuses) of public history through museums, historical markers, oral histories, etc. and do a bit of comparing and contrasting with public history here in the United States (I can’t help it – I’m a history nerd no matter where I am in the world). I’ll be “off the grid” while over there, but I look forward to sharing pictures and extended thoughts here at Exploring the Past when I return. Stay tuned.

Cheers!

What do you think? Leave a comment here!

