Return From Berlin

I got back to the States a couple days ago after spending a week taking in the sights and sounds of Berlin, Germany. It was an incredible experience and I enjoyed every minute of it with the exception of my United airlines flight from Chicago to St. Louis being delayed for six hours as I made my way back home. Nevertheless I’ll always remember this adventure for the amazing places and people I got to meet throughout.

Here are all the different places I visited:

Day One

  1. Kaiser Wilhelm I Memorial Church
  2. Berlin Victory Column
  3. Tiergarten
  4. The Bismarck Monument
  5. Reichstag Building
  6. Brandenburg Gate
  7. Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe (Holocaust Memorial)
  8. Neue Wache Memorial (“Mother With her Dead Son” by Käthe Kollwitz)
  9. Berlin Cathedral
  10. Weltzeituhr (Worldtime Clock) at Alexanderplatz
  11. Soviet War Memorial (Treptower Park)

Day Two

  1. Places of Remembrance
  2. Jewish Museum Berlin
  3. Checkpoint Charlie/Berlin Wall

Day Three

  1. Musikinstrumenten-Museum Berlin (Berlin Musical Instrument Museum)
  2. Tempelhofer Park

Day Four

  1. Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp

Day Five

  1. Otto Weidt’s Workshop for the Blind
  2. St. George’s English Bookshop
  3. Dussmann das KulturKaufhaus (English Bookshop)

Day Six

  1. Radio Tower
  2. Deutsches Historisches Museum (German History Museum)

And here are some photos from the trip. Some were taken with my iPhone, but most were taken with my Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ70. Click on any photo within the gallery for descriptions, context, and full-size images. Enjoy!

2 responses

  1. My, what a journey. Wonderful sounding itinerary, wonderful photos. I’ve had bad luck with United too. 😦

    1. Thank you! I don’t know what the deal was United, but it was such an awful experience getting back home 😦

What do you think? Leave a comment here!

